
 

 

Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Alarms 
 

Code Requirement 
 
 

-Residential Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Alarms for existing dwellings- 
 

New State Building Code Requirement effective January 1, 2014 

 
California Residential Code section R314 & R315 

 
Where a permit is required for alterations, repairs or additions exceeding $1000 in valuation, 
including exterior work, i.e. roofing, HVAC change-outs, windows, etc. existing dwelling 
or sleeping units that have attached garages or fuel burning appliances including fireplaces 
shall be provide with a carbon monoxide alarm. 
 
Carbon monoxide alarms shall be installed in the following locations: 

1. Outside of each separate dwelling unit sleeping area in the immediate vicinity 
of the bedroom(s). 

2. On every level of a dwelling unit including basements. 
3. Bedrooms with gas appliances (fireplaces).   

 
Smoke alarms shall be installed in the following locations: 

1. In every bedroom 
2. Outside each separate dwelling unit sleeping area;  (hallways) 
3. On every level of the dwelling unit including basements. 

 
Power supply. The smoke & carbon monoxide alarms shall receive their primary power 
from the building wiring and shall be equipped with a battery back-up. 

Exception: In existing dwelling units the alarms are permitted to be solely battery 
operated where repairs or alteration do not result in the removal or wall and ceiling 
finishes or there is no access by means of attic basement or crawl space.  

 
Interconnection.  Where more than one smoke & carbon monoxide alarm is required to be 
installed within the dwelling unit or within a sleeping unit the alarm shall be interconnected in 
a manner that activation of one alarm shall activate all of the alarms.    

Exception:  Interconnection is not required in existing dwelling units where repairs do 
not result in the removal of wall and ceiling finishes, there is no access by means of 
attic, basement or crawl space.   

________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

The Building Inspector will verify the installation of the smoke & 
carbon monoxide alarm(s) during the inspection process. 

 

OR 
 

Complete and sign under the penalty of perjury the verification 
form on the reverse side of this notice. 

 



 
 
 

 

 
 

 
SMOKE & CARBON MONOXIDE ALARM RETROFIT VERIFICATION  

 
 

I,_____________________________________ , and I,_________________________________ , 
        (Print Property Owner’s Name)                            (Tenant’s Name - if same as Owner write “Same”) 
 
 

who own and/or live in the dwelling located at:______________________________________ 
                                                                                                                 (Address) 
 
 

verify that the smoke & carbon monoxide alarms required by the California Residential Code (CRC) 
have been installed in the dwelling, in compliance with the code and with the manufacturer's 
instructions and further that they have been tested and do function properly. 
 
In an effort to enhance life safety within dwellings, CRC Section R314 and R315 require the retrofit of 
these alarms in existing dwellings when alterations, repairs or additions requiring a permit and 
exceeding $1,000 in value are made. Generally, the alarms must be hard wired (110 volt) with battery 
back-up and all alarms are to be interconnected. If the installation of the alarms will require the removal 
of wall or ceiling finishes or there is no access by means of attic, basement or crawl space, then alarms 
may be solely battery operated and not interconnected. Alarms must be installed in all of the following 
locations within the existing dwelling: 
 

• In all bedrooms (Smoke alarms) CO alarms in bedrooms with a gas appliance 
 

• Immediately outside of each separate bedroom area. 
 

• In each story level of the dwelling, including basements and habitable attic rooms. 
 
 
I have read and understand the above requirements and affirm by my signature that all required 
alarms mentioned above have been properly installed and tested. (Both signature lines below 
must be completed). 
 
 
 
____________________________________         __________________________________ 
Signature of Owner                              Date             Signature of Tenant                              Date 
                                                                                                  (If same as Owner - write “Same”) 
 

ATTENTION OWNER - OCCUPANT: 
 
This is a Voluntary Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Alarm verification procedure. If you prefer a 
Building Inspector to perform the verification, you must arrange to have an adult present at the 
time of inspection. 

 

City of Mountain House Building Division  
 

251 E. Main Street, Mountain House, CA 95391 
Phone: (209) 831-5618    

Website: mountainhouseca.gov   Email: mhbuilding@sjgov.org 


