

Mountain House Community Services District

5.A. Approve the Selections for Chairperson and Vice Chairperson to Serve through June 30, 2024, and Approve the Term Limits for Active and Alternate Members October 18, 2023

Background

- At the Special Meeting of the Commission on September 27, 2023, the Commission elected Commissioner Vishal Nayyar as Chairperson and Scott Pfister as Vice Chairperson using a ballot method however, after a recount of the ballots, it was determined that Commissioners Scott Pfister and Raj Singh tied for Vice Chairperson.
- It is required that the Commission vote for their choice between Commissioners Scott Pfister and Raj Singh using a ballot. Upon selection, the Commission must approve the selection of the candidates for Chairperson and Vice Chairperson by a motion of the Commission.

Background

- Per the amended Resolution 2023-31, two Commissioners shall serve a 2-year term and three Commissioners shall serve a 4-year term, however, only two Commissioners randomly selected the 4-year term. It is required that the remaining three Commissioners randomly select who will serve the additional 4-year term.
- Due to the absence of alternate member Umar Sear at the September 27, 2023, meeting, both alternate members must randomly select who will serve a 2-year term or a 4-year term.

Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Commission:

- 1. Vote for Vice Chairperson between Commissioners Scott Pfister and Raj Singh.
- 2. Approve the selection of Chairperson, Commissioner Vishal Nayyar and Vice Chairperson, as recently selected by a motion of the Commission.

Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Commission:

- 1. Have all commissioners who previously randomly selected 2-year terms randomly select a 4-year term to fill the third spot.
- Have both alternate commissioners randomly select who will serve a 4-year or 2-year term.
- 3. Approve the 4-year term limits and 2-year term limits of the active and alternate commissioners by a motion of the Commission.

Questions?